An Introduction to ITIL 2011 - Part 1
by Chris van der Leer on April 2nd, 2017

The following blog post contains high-level notes from the ITIL 2011 Foundation course and is designed to present only the important information required. It does not include unnecessary verbiage.

​ITIL® is a (registered) Trade Mark of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.


  • ​ITIL is the Information Technology Infrastructure Library
  • Can be known loosely as IT Service Management (ITSM),
  • IT Service management is performed by IT Service Providers via Information Technology, processes and people
  • ITIL is a best practice, vendor neutral and non-prescriptive
  • ITIL contains a set of specialised organisational capabilities for providing value to customers as services.

ITIL's Organisational Capabilities

​Specialised organisational capabilities include:
  • Processes – set of co-ordinated activities overlaid over the functions.  
  • Measurable, specific results, have customers, respond to specific trigger (eg. Call to Service desk)
  • Process owner is responsible for ensure that their process is fit for purpose.
  • Process manager is responsible for operational management.
  • Process practitioner is responsible for carrying out one or more process activities.
  • Service owner – Primary customer / stakeholder - accountable for initiation, transition and ongoing maintenance of support of a particular service
  • Functions – Organisational units to perform certain types of work, made up of roles (Helpdesk team)
  • Roles – an individual or team responsible for an activity (helpdesk agent)

The RACI Model

​Clearly defines roles to increase the ability to make the right decisions quickly by the right person, and to execute them effectively.

Responsible       -              Gets the work done
Accountable       -              The person who gets the blame / fudos for the work
Consulted           -              Consulted for their opinions
Informed             -              FYI’ed, no actual skin in the game


There are 3 types:

​Enterprise governance - Performed by board and senior management
Corporate governance - Corporate level fairness, accountability and transparency
IT Governance - he specific framework for the IT serviced provider.


  • ​Is defined by the customer
  • Determined by how well the service facilitates the outcomes that the customers want to achieve.
  • Fit to use (Service is available when a user needs it)
  • Warranty can be measured by availability, capacity, continuity and security.
  • Fit to purpose (What it does)

Therefore: Warranty + Utility =’s Value


  • ​Delivers value to customers
  • By facilitating outcomes customers want to achieve
  • Without the ownership of specific costs and risks.
  • Services reduce risk to the customer but transfer risk to the service provider.
  • 3 types of services:
  1. Core service
  2. Enabling services
  3. Enhancing services
  • Customer – party who pays for it
  • User – Party who uses it (usually call the Service desk with incidents / requests)
  • Service assets are any resource of a service provider. Services require service assets to add value / compromise the capabilities (intangible items) or resources (tangible) of a service provider.
Follow the link below to view my profile on Linked-In:

Posted in Business, Leadership, Management, Project Management    Tagged with no tags